Stadia Crowd Play feature presented

Stadia Crowd Play is now what?

Crowd Play, another great English word that joins Crowd Funding, Crowd Farming and Crowd Investing. Again, the "group / crowd" plays an important role. Crowd play is nothing more than the opportunity to play together in a kind of group.

But unlike in a MMORPG, this is usually played together in a kind of "round". For example, it could be a basketball game in which everyone plays a player. Of course you could also play an adventure game in which between two choices must be decided and the amount for Option A is.

Crowdplay von Stadia
Telltale Games has been offering crowd play for years

Is this new, this crowd play?

The idea is actually not new, actually Crowd Play has already been introduced as a feature in various other systems and games. A well-known developer studio is Telltale. There, between 6-12 players can connect via smartphone, Playstation or Xbox and develop solutions together.

Most of the games offering this feature often have a short explanation when they start the game. For example, the start screen of Batman looks like this.

Crowd Play Telltale Geräte
Coordinate and have fun thanks to Crowd Play

Users from all over the world could now, for example, hook up with a smartphone and decide with them.

Example for Adventure Games

Here is a scene from the Telltale game Batman: Arkham City. This game is an adventure game in which the story is based on your or your decision. We see in the screenshot that 8 people (main player + 7 viewer) participate in total in the session (top right).

The question was in the scene: Why are you doing the Batman ?!

Antwort A, B, C oder D?

There are now 3 possible answers from which the player and the viewer can choose. In addition, the voting result:

  • For the thrill. (0)
  • Gotham needs a hero. (4)
  • Nobody else will do it. (3)

Now you have to distinguish which game mode is active. There are 2 variants of how such decisions can be made.

But are fixed:

  • Variant player decision: The group votes, but in the end, the player decides whether he wants to keep to the vote.
  • Variant voting result: The highest voting result is automatically activated.

The final result is unknown to us, but it should now be clear how Crowd Play works at Adventure Games.

Example of sports games

In sports games, the feature can behave completely differently. For example, with NBA 2K, you sound like one of the other players and take on a line. So you become part of the basketball team by playing along. The same would of course work for other team sports. The market would definitely give some material to this feature.

Crowd Play NBA 2K Basketball
In NBA 2K you are allowed to play a field player

 

Not enough? Click here for the video demo of the Stadia function "Crowd Play"

2.9

Our opinion on the feature

The feature sounds cool on paper and can certainly be well marketed. For streamer, for example, the absolute dream. Make a game, invite or join people and gamble together. Admittedly, the idea is really "new" and good, but there are many questions that need to be answered. What do I do when players go to the "bag" again and again? Are there any overriding penalties or does every player have to block every slate separately? Until that's resolved, no major streamer will use the feature.

Do you already know the Play Now & State Share feature of Google Stadia? Here is the contribution: Stadia Play Now and State Share Feature

No Comments

Add a Comment

Your email address is not published. Required fields are marked *

Stadia Crowd Play Feature vorgestellt

Stadia Crowd Play ist nun was?

Crowd Play, ein weiteres tolles englisches Wort was sich neben Crowd Funding, Crowd Farming und Crowd Investing einreiht. Auch hier spielt die “Gruppe / Menge” eine wichtige Rolle. Crowd Play ist nämlich nichts anderes, als die Möglichkeit in einer Art Gruppe zusammen zu spielen.

Aber anders als in einem MMORPG, wird hier meist in einer Art “Runde” zusammen gespielt. Es könnte zum Beispiel ein Basketballspiel sein in dem jeder einen Spieler spielt. Natürlich könnte man auch ein Abenteuerspiel zocken in dem zwischen Zwei Auswahlmöglichkeiten entschieden werden muss und die Menge für Option A ist.

Crowdplay von Stadia
Telltale Games bietet das Crowd Play schon seit Jahren an

Ist das Neu, dieses Crowd Play?

Die Idee ist tatsächlich nicht neu, eigentlich wurde Crowd Play als Feature schon in diversen anderen Systemen und Spielen vorgestellt. Ein sehr bekanntes Entwicklerstudio ist Telltale. Dort können sich zwischen 6-12 Spieler via Smartphone, Playstation oder Xbox einklinken und zusammen Lösungen erarbeiten.

Die meisten Spiele die dieses Feature anbieten, haben oftmals schon beim Starten des Spieles eine kurze Erklärung dazu. So sieht zum Beispiel der Startscreen von Batman aus.

Crowd Play Telltale Geräte
Zusammen abstimmen und Spaß haben dank Crowd Play

User aus aller Welt könnten sich nun beispielsweise mittels Smartphone einklinken und mit-entscheiden.

Beispiel für Adventure Games

Hier eine Szene aus dem Telltale Spiel Batman: Arkham City. Dieses Spiel ist ein Adventure Spiel in dem die Story anhand deiner oder eurer Entscheidung aufgebaut wird. Wir sehen in dem Screenshot das 8 Leute (Hauptspieler + 7 Viewer) insgesamt in der Session teilnehmen (oben rechts).

Die Frage lautete in der Szene: Warum tust du das Batman?!

Antwort A, B, C oder D?

Es gibt nun 3 Antwortmöglichkeiten aus denen der Spieler und die Viewer wählen können. Daneben auch das Abstimmungsergebnis:

  • Für den Nervenkitzel.   (0)
  • Gotham braucht einen Helden.    (4)
  • Niemand sonst wird es tun.     (3)

Nun müsste man unterscheiden, welcher Spielmodus aktiv ist. Es gibt nämlich 2 Varianten wie solche Entscheidungen getroffen werden können.

Sind aber fix erklärt:

  • Variante Spielerentscheidung: Die Gruppe stimmt ab, am Ende entscheidet aber der Spieler ob er sich an die Abstimmung halten möchte.
  • Variante Abstimmungsergebnis: Das höchste Abstimmungsergebnis wird automatisch eingelockt.

Das finale Ergebnis ist uns unbekannt, allerdings sollte nun klar sein wie Crowd Play bei Adventure Games funktioniert.

Beispiel für Sport Spiele

Bei Sportspielen kann das Feature sich komplett anders verhalten. Bei NBA 2K zum Beispiel, klingt ihr euch als einer der Mitspieler ein und übernimmt eine Line. Ihr werdet also mit dem mitspielen zum Teil des Basketball Teams. Das Gleiche würde natürlich auch bei anderen Mannschaftssportarten funktionieren. Der Markt würde definitiv einiges für diese Funktion an Material hergeben.

Crowd Play NBA 2K Basketball
Bei NBA 2K dürft ihr einen Feldspieler spielen

 

Noch nicht genug? Hier geht es zur Video Demo von den Stadia Funktion “Crowd Play”

2.9

Unsere Meinung zu dem Feature

Das Feature hört sich auf dem Papier cool an und lässt sich bestimmt auch gut vermarkten. Für Streamer zum Beispiel der absolute Traum. Spiel aufmachen, Leute einladen oder beitreten lassen und zusammen zocken. Zugegebener Maßen ist die Idee auch wirklich “neu” und gut, allerdings gibt es auch hier viele Fragen die beantwortet werden müssen. Was mache ich nämlich, wenn Spieler immer wieder anderen auf den “Sack” gehen? Gibt es übergreifende Strafen oder muss jeder Spieler jeden Griefer extra sperren? Bis das geklärt ist, wird wohl kein großer Streamer das Feature verwenden.

Kenn ihr schon das Play Now & State Share Feature von Google Stadia? Hier gehts zum Beitrag: Stadia Play Now und State Share Feature

Keine Kommentare

Kommentar hinzufügen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.